Skip to content
IQCP logo

Information Quality Certified Professional

Every Profession needs its 'badge of honour'

IQCP brochure

Frequently Asked Questions

Is this certification aimed at IT or Business (e.g. non-IT) people?
Both — it is aimed at professionals of all disciplines. Anyone engaged in improving data or information quality will benefit from the certification, regardless of their work function or discipline.
Is this certification aimed at staffers/individual contributors or managers?
Both — in order to provide high quality information in an organization, both individual contributors and their managers need to have a skilled knowledge in IQ practice.
Can IQ Consultants be certified?
Yes — consultants who have gained the requisite experience can benefit greatly from certification as this will enhance the quality of the services they offer to their clients.
How do I attain certification?
By meeting specific work/experience requirements, by signing the IAIDQ Code of Ethics and Professional Conduct, and by taking and passing the IQCP examination, a three-hour, 150-questions, closed-book multiple choice exam provided online from anywhere in the world.
How are pre-requisite criteria validated?
During the application process, applicants provide information about their work experience and education to show how they satisfy the eligibility criteria. A sample of applications will be audited. If selected for the audit, candidates or IQCP recipients are responsible for providing the documentation necessary to verify any of the statements they made in their application.
How is the IQCP exam administered?
The IQCP exam is a closed book, test conducted online with a remote proctor ensuring test security and a stressless test environment for test takers around the world. In some instances, IAIDQ and its affiliates may offer the exam during events.
Who proctors the test and how does that work online?
Proctoring is provided by company ProctorU (for a video of how it works check out ProctorU now).
Are there FAQs specific to the online test proctor?
See the FAQs at the ProctorU website.
Will the exams be available in non-English languages?
Initially the exam will be in English only. This may change over time.
Are there any discounts available?
IAIDQ members receive a discount. Non-members are encouraged to join IAIDQ to benefit from the discount, and will be able to so via the IQCP application process. See fees and discounts.
Do I have to be a member of the IAIDQ to achieve certification?
No. However, we hope you consider joining to enjoy the many benefits of membership, including discounts for the certification fees and for events worldwide.
What happens after I've taken the exam?
You will receive your results within two to six weeks of the last date of your Test Window.

Candidates who pass the exam will receive a credential package that includes the credential certificate and information about how to maintain and renew the credential.

Candidates who do not pass the exam will be able to re-take it later.
What is the pass point of the exam?
The passing score or cut score for the exam is 500, on a scale that ranges from 300 to 600 points.
How is the exam scored, and why use scaled scores instead of raw scores?
The scoring is based on the number of items answered correctly out of the total number of scored items, and there is a raw score passing point (the cut score) that determines whether a candidate has passed or failed. The passing score (or cut score) for the IQCP examination was established by a panel of subject matter experts using a psychometrically sound, legally defensible, criterion-referenced process. During this process, committee members discussed the minimum level of competency required to pass the examination.

Setting a cut score based on general standards that are applicable primarily to training and education (i.e., 80%) would not be considered psychometrically sound nor would it be legally defensible.

Testing professionals realize that candidates need feedback about their performance. From a candidate perspective, the number of correct items would be the simplest to interpret, but it also opens up the potential for scores to be misinterpreted.

First, the IQCP examination is a criterion reference test. This means that there is a single cut score indicating the minimum competency needed for passing. It does not matter by how much a candidate passes or fails.

Second, to ensure that the examinations are relevant, and to maintain test security, examination forms are updated on a regular basis. As a result, over time candidates receive different sets of test items. Statistical adjustments are made to ensure equivalency of scores across forms. We then scale scores so that the scale is the same regardless of which form of the examination a candidate takes. Many programs use scaled scores, including the USA ACT® and SAT® examinations, licensure examinations for most medical and legal professions, and many certification and licensure examinations, such as professional certifications offered by HRCI, ASQ and others.

Since candidates still need some type of feedback to help understand proficiency across the content areas, a breakdown by domain is provided to each candidate who did not pass. This information is intended to assist the candidate in preparing for exam retake.

It is important to note that the raw score and cut score cannot be determined by looking at the summary feedback that indicates percent of domain passed.  As in most examinations, whether certification and licensure or education, a number of field test items are distributed throughout the examination for analysis. Some domains may have more field test items than others. These items are not scored and do not contribute to the final score.  If a percentage for a domain is 17%, that is 17% of the scored items in that domain, not of the total number of items on the examination.
How long will my certification last once I've passed the exam?
The IQCP credential needs to be renewed every three years. There are two ways to re-certify:
  • Submit a re-certification journal that documents a minimum level of ongoing professional development. Read the criteria on the Recertification web page.
  • Take the exam again.
How do I renew my certification?
See the Recertification Program page for updated information.